The Podcast Critic Newsletter - Great Pods
Great Pods 'cast Recs & Reviews
What's your IQ? 💯
0:00
-5:15

What's your IQ? 💯

Podcast Episode 4 with Lauren Passell, Biggie, and Cuban-Americans
Dj Khaled GIF by Music Choice - Find & Share on GIPHY
DJ Khaled gives you another one

Hey Party People!

So I did a thing. I started a podcast club on Clubhouse audio app. Listen here. So far there are a whopping four members - including myself.

Storytime: Friends, Cory and Imran (yes, the same name as me), joined the chat. I asked what Imran liked listening to on the radio because he doesn’t listen to a lot of podcasts. He said Tupac and Biggie. Boom, Cory mentioned it was Biggie’s death anniversary this week and that he recommends Slow Burn Season 3, Tupac and Biggie. I found critic reviews and started listening to the podcast myself, and in turn, am recommending it to you all below. Huzzah! If you are on Clubhouse, search and add the Great Pods club! I’ll be sitting in a live room at 9 AM PT on Friday to chat about podcast recommendations if anyone is interested.

Industry news: The 1st Ambie Awards (Podcast Awards) nominations from the Podcast Academy were announced for a May live show. My first scan of the nominees, has me scratching my head a little. Hot take: As much as I love DJ Khaled, and continue to listen to his podcast, The First One, exclusively on Amazon Music, he should not have been nominated for Best Entertainment Podcast. His podcast still needs a little bit of work. I’ll be working on a longer newsletter edition on the nominations.

On to our picks this week…


Slow Burn: Season 3
Season 3

Slow Burn: Tupac and Biggie
Publisher: Slate Podcasts
Genre: Music History (Explicit)

It was #BiggieDay March 9th. This year would mark the Notorious B.I.G’s 24th death anniversary. I wrote a little bit above why I am recommending it this week and the critic review I was able to source. If you are intrigued by the hip-hop saga, coupled with past interviews and storytelling, have a listen. Season 3 is 8 episodes in length. Write a review when you are done!

The work Slow Burn does to clearly document the Tupac-Biggie relationship makes for an admirable piece of reporting.

Jake Greenberg - Podcast Review - Dec 13, 2019

I'm going going back back to listen


Podcast: Great Pods Podcast Recommendations
Guest: Lauren Passell from Podcast the Newsletter

1st Pick: Teikirisi - Take it easy
Publisher: carmen & fryda (Independent)
Genre: Society / Documentary (Explicit)

2nd Pick: My Year In Mensa (see 3rd recommendation below)

Our guest this week on the podcast is Lauren Passell! She is the curator of Podcast the Newsletter, a newsletter that helps you discover new podcasts and get to know the people who make them. She also curates for the podcast app Hark audio and is the founder of Tink Media, a marketing and PR company for podcasters. You can follow her on Twitter @laurenpassell.  You can listen to her critique in the podcast player above.

About teikiris‪i‬: a podcast celebrating all things Cuban-American.

Take it easy podcast

Now that you know Lauren, she guested on John Hodgman’s comedy podcast. You’ll get some LOL’s out of this.

Honorable mention: Judge John Hodgman Podcast
Episode: Mr. Commode's Wild Ride
Genre: Comedy

About: Lauren files suit against her mother, Cheri. Cheri says she would like her ashes flushed down a toilet at Disney World. Lauren is opposed!

Listen Here


Podcast: My Year In Mensa
Publisher: Jamie Loftus | iHeartRadio
Genre: Personal Journal / Comedy (Explicit)

I’m going to be piggy-backing off of Lauren’s second pick, “My Year In Mensa” recommendation. Comedian Jamie Loftus recounts her one year of joining Mensa, the so-called smarty pants organization. Turns out they ain’t so smart. The setup is great. The follow-through is great. The content is sometimes surprising, but great. I was chuckling at her use of air horns and the Jeopardy sound-FX. By the time you hear them again, it’s like you are part of the inside joke. It’s a definitely weird roller coaster of comedy that includes darkness.

It’s only 4 episodes so you can easily finish this series.

"My Year In Mensa seems to combine so many podcast genres (it's documentary, true crime, history...) but I think the most important thing is that it's super funny."

Josh Flear - CBC - Jul 16, 2020

Listen Here


Stay safe, get vaccinated, and keep wearing a mask!
XOXO

Captain Ron

About Great Pods: Great Pods is a podcast recommendation ecosystem that uses critic and listener reviews to help you find your next listen!

0 Comments
The Podcast Critic Newsletter - Great Pods
Great Pods 'cast Recs & Reviews
Get your new podcast recommendation from writers, celebrities, influencers, and more from Great Pods. Hear why they like it with a quick review.